Gluten Allergy Diagnosis? Advice for dealing with what comes next


Newly Diagnosed Gluten Allergy? What to do after being diagnosed with a Gluten Intolerance.

Fortunately, there are a few simple things that you can do to make the transition to a gluten free lifestyle easier.

Gluten Allergy Dianosis

#1 Go through your pantry and refrigerator.

Get rid of foods that include ingredients with enriched wheat flour, whole wheat, rye, malt, oats, rolled oats, barley, and pasta.

Most commercial brand cereals have unsafe ingredients. Other, not so obvious ingredients that need to go are soy sauce, modified food starch, and hydrolyzed vegetable or soy protein.

Don’t forget medications. Some use starchy fillers like wheat.

#2 Try naturally gluten free foods first.

After being diagnosed, it can be tempting to look for or try to make gluten free baked goods. Products that are made to be gluten free can be very disappointing right after being diagnosed.

The regular stuff is still fresh in your palate. Stick to foods that are naturally gluten free and that you are already familiar with.

Substituting corn starch or rice flour as a thickener in a favorite stew is fine but, baked goods often have a different texture and flavor. Try these types of recipes in six months or a year.

#3 Don’t become a hermit!

Check out your favorite local restaurants. Many restaurant chains have their menu evaluated for (naturally) gluten free selections.

In local restaurants, talk with the manager, they are often knowledgeable and can be very helpful, especially if you are a regular.

Be polite and tip well. Make it a goal to find three or four restaurants that have gluten free selections near you.

#4 Party!

The scariest place for the gluten intolerant person is other people’s homes.

Stick to the veggie platter (no dip), corn chips, and potato chips. The easiest thing to do is, to bring something yourself that is big enough to share.

If you are familiar with the host ask if they will supply food packaging and recipes for you to review. If not, eat before the event.

Also, avoid beer, gin and whiskey. These are all made with barley or wheat. Wine, rum, tequila and vodka are all fine to drink.

It is a big adjustment to go gluten free but, worth it. It gets easier with time and will, with time become less of a burden and more of an adventure.


Please follow and like us:

Discussion1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Drug Allergy: Facts about Prescription and Over-the-counter

Leave A Reply